Australian clubs' 2021 AFC Champions League draw revealed

Australian clubs Sydney FC, Melbourne City and Brisbane Roar have learned their opponents for the upcoming AFC Champions League competition.

Wednesday's draw in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia revealed the clubs which City and Brisbane must overcome in the preliminary round and playoff rounds if they are to join reigning A-League Champions Sydney FC in the group stage. 

This year's iteration of the tournament has seen it expand to a group stage of 40 teams, with five East Zone and five West Zone groups of four. 

Steve Corica's side have been drawn in Group H alongside South Korea's Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors, Japan's Gamba Osaka and Singapore's Tampines Rovers, who are making their first appearance in the competition. 

Brisbane Roar will be vying for a place in Group F where they would face defending AFC Champions League winners Ulsan Hyundai FC as well as Thailand's BG Pathum United and Vietnamese club Viettel FC. 

First, they face a preliminary round clash with Kaya FC-Iloilo of the Phillipines on Wednesday 7th April. Success on this stage would set up a clash with Chinese club Beijing FC with a group stage place at stake. 

Last season's A-League runners-up Melbourne City will also prepare for two must-win fixtures. Their preliminary round opponents are Shan United FC of Myanmar, with a victory setting up a clash with Japanese club Cerezo Osaka in the playoff round. 

Advancement to the group stage would see Patrick Kisnorbo's outfit drawn in Group J alongside China's Shandong Luneng FC, Port FC of Thailand and Hong Kong club Kitchee SC. 

The AFC have confirmed that the group stage, which will be played in the East Zone from April 21 to May 7, is set to take place in centralised venues. 

The top two teams will progress into the knockout rounds of the competition alongside the three highest ranked third-placed teams.

Further details, including the time and location of the preliminary and playoff rounds, are still to be announced. 

2021 AFC Champions League Key Dates

Preliminary Round - Wednesday 7 April 2021

PS1: Brisbane Roar vs Kaya FC-Iloilo (PHI)

PS2: Melbourne City FC vs Shan United FC (MYA)

Playoff Round - Wednesday 14 April 2021 

PO1: Beijing FC (CHN) vs Winner PS1

PO2: Cerezo Osaka (JPN) vs Winner PS2

Group Stage - April 21 to May 7

Group F: Ulsan Hyundai FC (KOR), BG Pathum United (THA), Viettel FC (VIE), AUS-PHI-CHN P/O winner

Group H: Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors (KOR), Gamba Osaka (JPN), Tampines Rovers (SIN), Sydney FC (AUS)

Group J: Shandong Luneng FC (CHN), Port FC (THA), Kitchee SC (HKG), JPN-AUS-MYA P/O Winner